First Post & First Stream Trekking Date With My Wife

on

I am really excited to be writing my first ever blog post.

Recently, I’ve been doing a few “first” in my life, this includes my first coasteering with friends and first stream trekking date with my wife. The last couple of weekends have been action packed and adrenaline fuelled.

To people who know me, being outdoors has always been a part of my life. Since I moved to Hong Kong 4 years ago, I met some friends who I now hike a lot with. As a natural extension, the more I hike, the more challenging the hikes become. At some point in the summer last year, stream trekking became one of my favourite activities.

Beautiful waterfall at the river
Beautiful waterfall at the river

Getting my wife to stream trek

Hayley and I spoke about it for a while and I tried to persuade her this is in fact very “hea”. (A Cantonese word that literally spelled “H-E-A” and pronounced “hair”, meaning something that is relaxing, chilled out or doing not much)

Chill dude!
Chill dude!

So, last Sunday Hayley agreed to join me on a “hea” stream trek to the Dai Shing Stream near the Shing Mun Reservoir with a local group. It was a typical hot summer day and it had rained for the past week, so we half expected the water current could be strong, but as it turned out it wasn’t too bad.

Team work!
Team work!
Phil climbing up the mini-waterfall
Phil climbing up the mini-waterfall

As a group, we headed upstream through some rapids, bouldering up the mini-waterfalls, swimming in the stream with a turtle, some fish and some giant prawns. We even enjoyed chilling out at the natural jacuzzi in the river.

Giant prawn!
Giant prawn!
Romantic lunch by the river, after lots of hardwork. We had Swedish rye bread with salmon fish paste and cheese with dill sauce
Romantic lunch by the river, after lots of hardwork. We had Swedish rye bread with salmon fish paste and cheese with dill sauce

I was very proud of what Hayley had achieved, especially for as a first timer. As the teacher report would say, “very good, but could do better!”

At the same time, Hayley experienced what I love doing and enjoyed doing the adventure together.

Swimming through the stream
Swimming through the stream
Hayley bouldering up the rock
Hayley bouldering up the rock
This is what you call "hea"
This is what you call “hea”

Photo courtesy of Titan Chan of the Yo-hoo & Friends Group

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Linda says:

    stunning picture, looks like you had a good day

    Like

    1. yhpchung says:

      There maybe a few more posts like that 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

